---
title: "Moneypenny (VoiceNation) vs Abby Connect (2026): Pricing Compared"
description: "Moneypenny, formerly VoiceNation, vs Abby Connect: 200 live minutes cost $422 vs $599. Billing rules, AI plans and who each fits, plus a third option."
canonical: https://dolfyn.ai/compare/moneypenny-vs-abby-connect
source: dolfyn.ai
---

# Moneypenny (VoiceNation) vs Abby Connect (2026): Pricing Compared

> Moneypenny, formerly VoiceNation, vs Abby Connect: 200 live minutes cost $422 vs $599. Billing rules, AI plans and who each fits, plus a third option.

2-week free trialNo credit card, no contracts
[Book a call](#demo)


Comparison


# Moneypenny (Formerly VoiceNation) vs Abby Connect: Price, Minutes and Who Answers


Updated **November 2026**7 min readLive answering &middot; AI receptionists


Quick Verdict

**Moneypenny costs less at most live tiers, and Abby Connect gives you a smaller dedicated team.** VoiceNation became Moneypenny in February 2025, so anyone comparing VoiceNation and Abby today is really comparing these two. At 200 live minutes, Moneypenny is $422 a month and Abby is $599. Abby answers with a dedicated in-house team and pools human and AI time in one plan, while Moneypenny sells AI separately by the call. If you want calls handled by something built around your business rather than a script, dolfyn starts at $179/month.


In this comparison
- [What each service actually is](#overview)
- [Where they differ](#differ)
- [Pricing reality](#pricing)
- [Side-by-side comparison](#table)
- [Who should pick which](#who)
- [The third option: built for you](#third)


Key Takeaways

Moneypenny absorbed VoiceNation in February 2025, and voicenation.com now redirects to it. Both services publish prices: 50 live minutes are about the same, but 200 minutes cost $422 at Moneypenny against $599 at Abby, and 500 minutes cost $985 against $1,380. Abby counts ring time, assigns a dedicated in-house team of 10 to 20 and offers a free trial with no setup fee. Moneypenny sells AI separately, from $99 for 50 calls. Both work from what you tell them about your business, and dolfyn is the option built around it, from $179/month.


## What each service actually is


**Moneypenny** is a UK-founded answering company that dates to 2000 and says it has about 1,000 team members across the US and UK, handling more than 40,000 calls a day. It announced in February 2025 that VoiceNation was becoming Moneypenny, and the old VoiceNation site now redirects to it. Live receptionists work around the clock, qualifying leads, booking, taking messages and taking payments by phone, and an AI receptionist handles FAQs, scheduling, routing and data collection, escalating to your team or a live receptionist.


**Abby Connect** is a family-owned service that launched in 2005 and says it has served more than 6,200 businesses. Its pitch is one service with three ways to answer: human, AI, or a mix. Each client gets a dedicated team of 10 to 20 virtual receptionists working in-house in Las Vegas, and its AI answers around the clock in English and Spanish, books into common calendars and warm-transfers to a person. Abby's team also reviews AI conversations.


The core difference
Moneypenny sells scale and a lower live rate. Abby sells a smaller team that gets to know you, with AI and human time drawn from one plan.


## Where they differ


**Who picks up.** Abby's dedicated team of 10 to 20 is its main selling point, because callers reach people who have handled your account before. Moneypenny runs a larger US and UK operation, and whether a client gets a dedicated team on US plans is not stated on its pricing page.


**How AI is sold.** Abby has no separate AI plans now. One minute of AI uses half an Abby Minute, so the 50-minute Starter plan covers up to 100 AI minutes, and you can mix the two. Moneypenny prices AI per call rather than per minute, in its own plans.


**What gets billed.** Abby's terms say billed time includes ring time, talk time and transfer time, exclude hold time, and round each call up to the nearest 30 seconds. Moneypenny does not say on its pricing page whether ring time counts, so ask before comparing the two minute for minute.


**Software.** Both list home service tools. Moneypenny names Housecall Pro, ServiceTitan, Jobber and HubSpot among others, and Abby names ServiceTitan, Housecall Pro, Jobber and JobNimbus on its home services page. Neither explains how deep those connections go, and Abby's human booking runs through Calendly, so check what actually lands in your software.


## Pricing reality


Both publish prices, which makes this one of the easier comparisons in the category. These are the live plans as listed in November 2026.


Live minutes per monthMoneypennyAbby Connect
50$165 ($2.85 per extra minute)$164 ($3.29 per extra minute)
100$265 ($2.65)$329 ($3.29)
200$422 ($2.39)$599 ($2.99)
500$985 ($2.09)$1,380 ($2.76)


For AI, Moneypenny lists $99 a month for 50 calls, $199 for 100, $435 for 250 and $775 for 500, with $2.39 down to $1.69 per extra call. On Abby, AI overage works out to about $1.38 to $1.65 per AI minute.


Take a business with 150 calls a month at about three minutes each, or 450 live minutes. The 500-minute plan fits on both, at $985 on Moneypenny and $1,380 on Abby, and Abby's total will also include ring time.


Abby has no setup fee and offers a free trial on every plan, without stating how long. Its plans are month to month, though after the first 30 days it asks for 30 days' notice to cancel. Moneypenny says there is no contract and asks for 30 days' notice; its pricing page does not mention a setup fee or a trial.


## Side-by-side comparison


FeatureMoneypennyAbby Connectdolfyn
Who answersLive team, or AI sold separatelyDedicated live team, AI, or a mixCustom AI, transfers to your people
Starting price$165/mo live, $99/mo AI$164/moFrom $179/mo, scoped before go-live
200 live minutes$422/mo$599/moNot a per-minute live service
Ring time billedNot statedYes, per its termsPlan scoped to your call volume
Simultaneous callsNot statedNot statedAnswers every call at once
SoftwareLists ServiceTitan, Jobber, Housecall ProLists ServiceTitan, Jobber, Housecall ProCustom API to whatever you already run
ContractNo contract, 30 days' noticeMonth to month, 30 days' notice after the first 30 daysMonth to month
Free trialNot shownYes, length not stated2 weeks, no credit card


## Who should pick which


Moneypenny For lower live-minute cost


Live 200 min$422/mo


AISeparate, per call


StrengthScale, phone payments


Watch forRing-time rule not stated


Abby Connect For a team that knows you


Live 200 min$599/mo


AISame plan, half rate


StrengthDedicated in-house team


Watch forRing time counts


Choose Moneypenny if the live per-minute cost drives your decision, or if you want phone payments and separate AI plans. Choose Abby if a consistent team matters most, or if you want human and AI on one plan with a free trial. Both suit businesses that want a person on the line and accept that the bill grows with the minutes.


## The third option: built for you


A live receptionist works from what you give them, and the bill climbs as your phone gets busier. dolfyn builds a team of specialist AI agents around one business, with an intake agent that routes each caller, and it connects through custom API integration to the software you use. It picks up every call at once, so a busy morning does not put anyone on hold, and it can transfer to your people when a call needs one. AI checks every call, our team reviews calls daily, and a person makes every fix.


If you want a human voice on every call, dolfyn is the wrong choice and either of these services is a better fit. For everyone else, plans start at $179/month, priced to your call volume before you go live, month to month, with a 2-week free trial and no credit card.


The short version
Moneypenny is the lower live rate, Abby is the dedicated team, and dolfyn is the receptionist built around your business.


Curious what one built around your business would look like? [Book a call](#demo).


## Frequently asked questions


### What happened to VoiceNation?


VoiceNation became Moneypenny. Moneypenny announced the change in February 2025, and voicenation.com now redirects to Moneypenny's US site, so a comparison of VoiceNation and Abby Connect today is a comparison of Moneypenny and Abby Connect.


### Is Moneypenny cheaper than Abby Connect?


At most live tiers, yes. The 50-minute plans are about the same at $165 and $164, but 100 minutes cost $265 against $329, 200 minutes cost $422 against $599, and 500 minutes cost $985 against $1,380. Abby also counts ring time, and Moneypenny's pricing page does not say whether it does.


### Does Abby Connect charge for ring time?


Yes. Abby's terms say billed time includes ring time, talk time and transfer time, exclude hold time, and round each call up to the nearest 30 seconds.


### Do Moneypenny and Abby Connect offer AI receptionists?


Both do. Moneypenny sells AI in separate plans priced by the call, from $99 a month for 50 calls. Abby includes AI in the same plans as its live service, with each AI minute counting as half an Abby Minute.


### Is there an alternative to a live answering service?


Yes. dolfyn builds a custom AI receptionist around your business, answers every call at once and transfers to your people when needed. It starts at $179/month, month to month, with daily human review and a 2-week free trial.


 

 
### Find out what we'd build for your business

 
Most vendors show you a demo of their own product. Book a 15-minute discovery call, and the same day we send you a number to call yours.

 [Book a call now](https://cal.com/dolfyn/15min)
 


### Related

[Abby Connect alternatives](https://dolfyn.ai/alternatives/abby-connect)[Smith.ai vs Ruby](https://dolfyn.ai/compare/smithai-vs-ruby)[Ruby alternatives](https://dolfyn.ai/alternatives/ruby-receptionists)[AI receptionist vs answering service](https://dolfyn.ai/blog/ai-receptionist-vs-answering-service-contractors)[dolfyn pricing](https://dolfyn.ai/pricing)

---
*Source: [https://dolfyn.ai/compare/moneypenny-vs-abby-connect](https://dolfyn.ai/compare/moneypenny-vs-abby-connect)*
*dolfyn — AI voice receptionist for contractors and service businesses*
*Starts at $179/month. 2-week free trial. No contracts. [dolfyn.ai](https://dolfyn.ai)*
